Visit a Local Orchard or Cider Mill this Season!

fall_activityBlog

 

Visit a Local Orchard or Cider Mill This Season!

Written by Jon Waiksnoris, Marketing Intern

 

It’s fall in the Northeast, and apple flavors are back in popular taste! Now that the weather has finally cooled down, enjoying a beautiful day at the orchard picking apples and tasting cider is the perfect way to celebrate the season. At Price Chopper & Market 32 we love this time of year, because we team up with a variety of local farms who supply our stores with home.grown. apples and cider every fall.

Rulfs Orchard in Peru, NY has been a local partner of ours for over 20 years! Originally a dairy farmer, Robert Rulfs added a cider mill to his farm in 1983 and never looked back. Today, the orchard offers many different types of produce, apples, and berries. Featuring pick-your-own Macintosh apples, a corn maze and fresh baked goods, Rulfs Orchard is definitely worth a visit this fall!

Established in 1911, Beak & Skiff Apple Orchard is the result of onion farmer Beak and SkiffGeorge Skiff and dairy farmer Andrew Beak, joining forces to enter the apple business. Located in Lafayette, NY, Beak & Skiff offers a variety of apples for picking. They also produce delicious cider in their mill using fresh apples exclusively grown on their orchard!

Cold Hollow Cider Mill is a Vermont cider mill we’ve partnered with for more than 20 years! In 1974, Eric and Francine Chittenden began making apple cider for friends, soon after, they realized they should open up a business. They wanted to make cider to distribute to supermarkets, and become a Vermont tourist attraction in the meantime. Today, through their own old-fashioned style, Cold Hollow Cider Mill is both one of New England’s top producers and one of Vermont’s biggest tourist attractions.

Located in Altamont, NY, Altamont Orchards has been a family operated farm in the Capital Region for over 49 years! Dating all the way back to 1792, the farm has been leased and sold numerous times. However, in 1967 the Abbruzzese family became the first family to work and live on the farm. They still own the farm today, promising to raise and produce only the finest products for their community and customers. Be sure to check out their farm market featuring, apples, apple cider donuts, pies, breads, pastries, and more!

Check out the info below to find out more about our local apple partners and what they have to offer!

Rulfs Orchard: 531 Bear Swamp Rd, Peru, NY / http://www.rulfsorchard.com/
Walhowdon Farm & Orchards: 33 Walhowdon Way, Lebanon, NH
Hudson River Fruit: 65 Old Indian Rd, Milton, NY / https://www.hudsonriverfruit.com/
Sunrise Orchards: 1287 N Bingham St, Cornwall, VT / https://sunriseorchards.com/
Crunch Time Apple Growers: Wolcott, NY / http://www.crunchtimeapplegrowers.com/
Jaeschke’s Orchard: 23 Gould Rd, Adams. MA / http://jaeschkesorchard.com/
Brace’s Orchard: 444 Brace Rd, Dallas, PA
Beak & Skiff: 2708 Lords Hill Rd, Lafayette, NY / http://beakandskiff.com/
Breezelands Orchards: 1791 Southbridge Rd, Warren, MA / http://www.breezelandsorchards.com/
Mayer Brothers Cider Mill: 1540 Seneca Creek Rd, Buffalo, NY / http://mayerbrothers.com/cider-mill-store/
Fowler Farms: 10273 Lummisville Rd, Wolcott, NY / http://www.fowlerfarms.com/
Rogers Orchard: 336 Long Bottom Rd, Southington, CT / http://www.rogersorchards.com/default.aspx
Cold Hollow Cider Mill: 3600 Waterbury Stowe Rd, Waterbury Center, VT / http://www.coldhollow.com
Altamont Orchards: 6654 Dunnsville Rd, Altamont, NY / http://altamontorchards.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: